365 photos in 365 days: Photo #232

Yesterday, Michelle had to go to Nishinoshima (a neighboring island) to teach at the junior high school over there, so we decided to have a date night after her work. This doesn’t get to happen very often because we usually have tennis on Thursday nights. But since it’s winter and tooooo darn cold in the gym, tennis practices have been canceled until the weather starts to warm up.

This picture was taken after we got off the boat on our way back home from dinner. This is a long exposure of the boat leaving Chibu’s port. When I first took the picture and looked at it on the back of the camera, the right side of the picture was over exposed and I felt like the light trail didn’t look as cool as I hoped for. We walked home from the port trying to find another picture I could take. We tried some more long exposures but none of them came out how I wanted. When we got home, I popped my memory card into the computer and loaded the image. I sat and thought about how I could make the picture better, fiddled around with the exposure and some brushes in Lightroom, then BOOM! Here’s the picture I came up with:

Location: Chibu-mura, Shimane-ken, JAPAN
Location: Chibu-mura, Shimane-ken, JAPAN
One thought on “365 photos in 365 days: Photo #232

Let us know what you think

