365 photos in 365 days: Photo #203 & #204

Good Afternoon everyone!

I know, a late post again. I haven’t been doing too well with keeping up on posting. Maybe it’s the cold weather. Maybe it’s because I just want to spend time with Michelle. Maybe it’s because I just forget and am living life. Nope, it’s all because of Halo 4 (and spending time with Michelle). We just have so much fun playing online against other people. I also have a lot of fun hearing Michelle swear like a sailor. That’s right! She swears like a sailor when we play Halo and I love it! It’s not the same when I am at home playing and she is at work because I don’t have a foul-mouthed woman to enhance my playing experience!

We finally got a picture of … a TANUKI, the namesake animal of our blog! You can read more about the tanuki in our “about the blog” page.  We always see them around the island during the night (there’s 2,000 or so tanuki on the island after all), but it’s rare to see them during the day.  As a result, snapping a picture of a tanuki is very difficult.

For the past two years, Michelle has been asking me to try and get a picture of a tanuki. I always bring my camera to try and get a picture when we go for a night walk, but the little guys are always so far away.  When I try to sneak up and get closer, they run farther away. Then the tanuki usually stop to look back at me! Like they are taunting me! It’s maddening!

But I got lucky on Wednesday night. We went for a walk and I reluctantly brought my camera even though I didn’t think we were going to find a tanuki. While we were talking, Michelle tapped my arm and pointed. I looked over to where she was pointing and I saw the tanuki… sitting… staring at us about 4 meters away. I slowly brought up my camera and took a picture. I showed it to Michelle, but the tanuki was so small in the picture. I walked closer to it… slowly so I wouldn’t scare it. I bent down and took another picture, but I thought I could get closer still because the little tanuki didn’t seem too scared of us.  I crept closer and it got up and took a few steps away, but sat back down and seemed to pose for me.  I walked a little closer and took this picture:

Location: Chibu-mura, Shimane-ken, JAPAN
Location: Chibu-mura, Shimane-ken, JAPAN

I think tanuki are very cute. I really want to catch one and keep it as a pet or just go and pet one. I asked Michelle if I could pet it but she said no 😦 Maybe I have to go out and find one on my own to go and pet it. Someday before I leave this island I will pet a tanuki!

Now moving on to yesterday’s picture…

Every Thursday, Michelle has to go to one of the neighboring islands to teach at the junior high. Since we don’t own a car, she has to walk to the port. It’s a 30-minute walk up a steep hill and then a 30-minute walk back. I usually walk with Michelle when she doesn’t ride her bike.  It’s hard to roll out of bed at 5:50 in the morning when its one degree Celsius (33° F) in the house, but I braved the cold and walked with her yesterday. Once we got to the port, I looked around to see if there was anything interesting to take a picture of. I didn’t find anything. That is until I looked beyond the wave breakers and saw that the sun was rising. I kissed Michelle goodbye and walked to get a picture of the rising sun. It was so beautiful! After about 15 minutes, I captured a picture that I was satisfied with and started to walk home.

Location: Chibu-mura, Shimane-ken, JAPAN
Location: Chibu-mura, Shimane-ken, JAPAN

Not only did I get such a beautiful picture, but when I was walking back home one of the first year junior high boys saw me, ran to catch up to me and started to try and speak to me in English. It made me happy that he wasn’t afraid to try and speak English with me. When we got closer to the school, I saw a few of the elementary school kids walking to school. They stopped and waited for me and were so happy to see me. While we were walking to the school, one of the sixth grade girls gave me a Japanese quiz. She would say the English word for a fruit and then asked me what the Japanese word was. It was a lot of fun and they got a kick out of saying English and hearing me speak Japanese. I had a great morning all because of Michelle.

-Khoa

2 thoughts on “365 photos in 365 days: Photo #203 & #204

  1. charmedbylove December 14, 2012 / 11:32 am

    the photo simply epitomizes Japan doesn’t it?

  2. Nancy Z December 15, 2012 / 1:52 am

    The Tanuki is cute. To me it looks like a cross between a raccoon and a Schipperke.

Let us know what you think

