The coolest kid’s meal toy since the Burger King spinning top shooters

Remember when you used to see fast food commercials on TV during the Legends of the Hidden Temple commercial break and the kid’s meal had such a cool toy that you begged and pleaded with your mom to get you one immediately, lest the fast food joint ran out?

I still vividly remember the Burger King commercial featuring spinning top shooters that seemed to promise an endless supply of fun.  I even convinced my family to have Burger King for dinner that very night in hopes of procuring the coolest toy to accompany a greasy cheeseburger.  To my disappointment, our friendly neighborhood BK Lounge didn’t have the awesome spinning top shooters the commercial promised.  I was crushed; a flame broiled burger never tasted so unsatisfying.

Fast forward to adulthood and the kids meal toys of today rarely ever come close to my beloved neon-colored spinning top shooters.  That is until now.

Check this out!

Taiko no Tatsujin McDonald's Toy

It’s a taiko drum from Japan’s drumming game sensation, “Taiko no Tatsujin” (Japanese Drumming Master).  The game is similar to Dance Dance Revolution, but for drumming.  Check out a video here if you’re curious.  This cute little guy makes drum sounds and can even hold a card or paper in its hands.

Yes, I’m a grown ass woman, but when I saw this toy at McDonald’s, I had to get a Happy Meal.  I was actually worried I’d be turned away upon placing my order.  Feeling a bit nervous, I uttered the words, “Happi Meelu” with a bit of an inward cringe.  To my relief, the cashier accepted my order and I am now the proud owner of the coolest kid’s meal toy since the Burger King spinning top shooters.

The six year old in me is doing cartwheels and stuffing her face with victory burgers right now.

One thought on “The coolest kid’s meal toy since the Burger King spinning top shooters

  1. Grace May 16, 2013 / 6:59 am

    You know you can just purchase the toy without having to purchase the whole happy meal 🙂 My friend goes and buys all the Hello Kitty toys when they have them…well at least here in the states not sure if it’s different in Nippon!

Let us know what you think

