365 photos in 365 days: Photo #184

Today Chibu had a festival called Dossari Matsuri and it was a blast. I was asked by the town hall to take photos of the event. I took 1400 photos during the event. I’m going to have to delete a lot of them but I couldn’t believe I took that many.

Today’s photo is from the festival. They had a tuna cutting demonstration and after the fishermen where finished slicing and dicing, they auctioned off each piece of tuna. The average price of each block of tuna that you see in the picture was 4,000 yen (US $48). Michelle and I were able to try a piece of nigiri sushi (just tuna, vinegar rice, wasabi and soy sauce) that was made from the tuna used in the demonstration.  It was the best we’ve ever tasted!  The tuna melted in your mouth, it was soooo good!  Wish we could have bought some, but I had to stay at the event and keep taking pictures and didn’t have time to go home and put the tuna in the fridge.

Location: Chibu-mura, Shimane-ken, JAPAN

I also displayed some of my pictures at the festival and I was so glad to get complements on my photography from our neighbors.  One of the dads in Chibu liked one of the pictures on display so much that he took it off the wall, brought it home, and sent Michelle an email about it after…the photo was printed at a photoshop, but luckily I only used black paper for a frame :/  I’m honored that someone liked my picture so much that they felt compelled to steal it off the wall 😛

Let us know what you think

