365 photos in 365 days: Photo #169

Location: Chibu-mura, Shimane-ken, JAPAN

Sorry for another late post. Yesterday Michelle and I had tennis and after we showered we decided to watch Wall-e together. Wall-e is one of my favorite Pixar movies. All he wanted was to hold Eve’s hand! He went through all of his adventures for her. I would do the same just to hold Michelle’s hand.

Now to my picture. Every Thursday, Michelle has to go to an island nearby to teach English at the junior high over there. Usually Michelle bikes to the port by herself, but yesterday she wanted to walk and asked if I would join her. I was already up and had nothing to do at 6:40 in the morning, so I said ok.  It’s hard finding the will to go for a walk in the cold when the sun has barely started to peak out over the mountains, but I figured I could get a good picture if I went.

This statue is part of the Guardian Diety Water Spring, Kawai. The water spring is one of Shimane’s top 100 purest water sources. The water really is some of the best water you have ever tasted. Since the water is so pure, many people who live in Chibu use the spring water to make rice and tea at home.  Every time we walk by, we see people filling up 5-6 liter bottles. When you want to drink some water or take some home, you have to first clean off the water ladle by running it under the water. Then you have to give water to the statues around the water spring.

Let us know what you think

