365 photos in 365 days: Photo #167

Location: Chibu-mura, Shimane-ken, JAPAN

Do you remember how I told you that we have been having crazy weather here? How we went from torrential down pour to sun then back to rain. And how yesterday was one of the few sunny days that we get before the winter weather comes in. Well that sunny day did not carry over to today. In the morning we had a lot of cloud cover with some high winds. Nothing unusual for the morning, I actually thought we were going to have fair weather and maybe even some sun. Boy was I wrong.

When I left the house to go to the kindergaten with Michelle. The clouds turned dark gray and the winds picked up like no other. As we were playing with the kids, it started to rain. A little drizzle for 5 mins then BOOM! Thunder! The little kids screamed then asked if I like thunder. I replied with a big smile, “YES!” Michelle and I were dreading the walk back because of the lack of rain gear we had. I was lucky enough to bring two umbrellas but if we left right when it first started raining, our clothes would have been soaked right down to our undies thanks to the high winds. But we got lucky again, the rain let up to a little drizzle and we had a somewhat dry walk back to the junior high.

After I did some grocery shopping for dinner, I found this patch of flowers. I love doing flower photography after it rains. I would love it even more if i had a macro lens (hint hint Michelle, christmas is coming soon šŸ˜› ). After taking pictures of groups of flowers with different colors, I found the flower in the picture above, in full bloom but covered in rain drops, trying to soak up even a little sunshine from the stormy day.

2 thoughts on “365 photos in 365 days: Photo #167

  1. laura@eljaygee November 7, 2012 / 1:39 am

    beautiful composition can imagine what a macro would do for you šŸ˜‰

  2. oceanboundsadventures November 7, 2012 / 12:37 pm

    Beautiful! Looks like a Ruby

Let us know what you think

