They’re out to get me!

The bees!  The killer bees!!!  They’re out to get me.

In Chibu, we have these bees called suzume-bachi, or sparrow bees.

I don’t know why they’re called “sparrow bees,” but I have a sneaking suspicion that it’s because they are as big as a sparrow!  Well…as big as a baby sparrow, but still, that’s a huge bee!  If you get stung by a suzume-bachi once, you must immediately go to the hospital.  If you get stung twice, you’re in trouble.

And lucky me, these mutant bees seem to follow me wherever I go.

Taking a walk with Khoa; sparrow bee to the face.  Minding my own business enjoying Chibu’s beautiful scenery; dive bombed by a sparrow bee.  Biking to work; side swiped by a huge bee – It literally caught up with me from behind and rammed my leg.  You gotta be kidding me!

Usually Khoa is standing right next to me when I get whacked by a massive bee.  I scream, he laughs; this comedy act has been going on for a while now.  And I don’t think it’s a coincidence that I’m always the one these bees crash in to.  Some kind of bee conspiracy is in play when bees always make a B-line for your head.

I haven’t been stung yet, but I feel like it’s only a matter of time.  These crazy bees are out to get me, I tell ya!

3 thoughts on “They’re out to get me!

  1. Art Zimmermann October 13, 2012 / 11:41 pm

    The Bee-line comment sounds just like something your G-ma Duck would say. Beeeee careful!

  2. tokyobling October 14, 2012 / 1:17 pm

    They see Khoa and panic, wildly swerving to the side and hit into you instead! (^-^)

  3. kitsunedaifuku October 19, 2012 / 6:25 pm

    God every time one of these things finds its way into the staffroom all the rest of the teachers are so nonchalant whilst i whimper under my desk XD

Let us know what you think

