Goodbye, Facebook (and good riddance)

Blogging has made my life better.

It allows me to take time and remember the interesting, noteworthy, fun, and sometimes bizarre things that I have experienced.  It gives me time to settle down, reflect on my day, and be grateful for even the most mundane things.  Does anyone remember my posts about Salty Watermelon Pepsi, Sweet Tomato Sauce Pringles, or the best ice cream in the world?  Without my blog, I would undoubtedly eat these weird snacks and never think of them again.  Instead, I have a place where I can recall and write down what made it good, bad, or indifferent.  I’m able to appreciate (or complain about) the product and that in itself is infinitely better than consuming and forgetting.

Even the bad parts about my life in Japan, for example, the insane heat of summer, are made a little less worse because of our blog.  Being able to poke fun at the heat allows me to cope with the feeling that I’m living in an oven. I feel better when I laugh at myself wearing a towel on my head because I’m sweating so profusely.  Because of blogging, I’m also able to focus on the positives of the summer months.  Summer festivals, shave ice at every street corner, and swimming in the ocean are not possible without the blistering heat.

So in short, blogging gives me a space to appreciate not only the big events in my life, but the seemingly insignificant ones too, and I’m very grateful for that.   I think a failure to appreciate what one has is the reason for unhappiness, not a lack of things to be happy about.

(dis)like

Facebook, however, is a happiness-sucking plague of the internet that I have recently decided to stop using (at least for the newsfeed function).  I agree that Facebook is a great way to connect and reconnect with friends.  Living in Japan, it has made me feel like my friends are closer than 5,600 or so miles away.  But Facebook also makes me feel less satisfied with my life.

I’m an inherently competitive person.  And I think to varying degrees, everyone is.  Even though I’m married to a loving husband, living in an island paradise, have an awesome low-stress job and get to travel often, when I look at the Facebook newsfeed and see the cool things that other people are doing, I get jealous.  Because of my competitive nature, I want what I have and what they have.  I know, it sounds nuts, but I can’t help but feel envious when I see my friend’s skydiving pictures even if I just got done snorkeling right in front of my house.  The Facebook newsfeed interrupts the focus on the good parts of my own life and instead turns my attention to other people’s lives.  And really, who cares if Joe Schmo got a kick ass new car or if Spazzy McGee went to Vegas.  I have enough things to be happy about in my own life.

So goodbye, Facebook, and good riddance.  I’ll be sticking to blogging, thank you very much, and being grateful for the things I have.  Who cares about the Joneses anyway?

One thought on “Goodbye, Facebook (and good riddance)

  1. Catherine August 16, 2012 / 1:29 pm

    I agree with this! So I’m an English teacher living in Japan for the past few years. I have a great life with my travels and friends, but seeing those engagement and honeymoon photos will always make me a bit jealous.

    On the other hand, I went to a concert in Tokyo and met the singer from Active Child. I was so taken aback when he kept telling me how cool my life was because I lived in Japan. I guess the grass is always greener.

Let us know what you think

