Thank you for your time

I love blogging.  I used to hate it. 

 

Blogging is such a personal endeavor.  I feel like I’m exposing myself, my feelings, and my thoughts to the world every time I click the “publish now” button.  It has the personal touch of a diary and the permanence and revealing nature of….well, anything on the internet.  Anyone could be reading this entry now, friend or foe (although I’d like to think that I don’t have many of the latter), all of whom have the potential and right to agree with, disagree with, and judge my every word.

 

Now that I’ve entered an essay contest, that level of judgment has increased tenfold…because people are literally judging my writing.

 

I wrote an essay about Khoa and my experience as a married couple on the JET Programme for a new JET-related website.  If my essay gets the most likes on Facebook, I will win the contest and gain the feeling that “you like me, you really like me.” 

 

So please, if you have a few minutes to spare, head on over to JETprogram.me, read my essay, and if you enjoyed reading it, please click the little “like” button at the top.  It would be greatly appreciated. 

 

Thank you for your time and effort in helping me in the contest! 

 

And thank you for taking the time to read our blog.  We really appreciate all of our readers for taking time out of your day to read and care about what we write.  Also, thank you to those of you who click the “like” button or comment on Khoa’s photos.  It really means a lot to us and we get really happy every time the little jingle on Khoa’s computer rings, telling us that we got another comment, like, or follower.  

 

So in summary, THANK YOU! 

 

-Khoa and Michelle

4 thoughts on “Thank you for your time

  1. foldedcranes July 28, 2012 / 12:36 am

    Oh, such a lovely post! I really enjoyed reading it and am about to head over to read your essay too (which no doubt I will “like”!) It’s interesting that you say here that you used to hate blogging, but now you like it – I think I know what you mean, but it is cool that this blog gives you guys so much satisfaction now! 🙂
    P.s. I think I have some replies in the pipeline for you guys, I’m sorry I have been slack with that, it’s been a bit of a hectic time! Wishing you both a great weekend from Leiden!

  2. foldedcranes July 28, 2012 / 12:44 am

    Just finished reading your essay on the JET website and I had to come back and say something else here: such a heartwarming and lovely story!! I can completely relate in many ways, as PJD and I moved over here to the Netherlands together 2 years ago (me to study, he got a job). Being the one who was coming to do a specific project, I felt a big sense of responsibility to ensure that PJD would have a good time and that things would go well for him too – much as it sounds like you had a sense of in relation to Khoa! Then we got married earlier this year – and I agree, living overseas in another culture really is a good way to grow strong, strong foundations together! It’s so great you have each other and that being there together has really enhanced your JET experience. Awesome! Oh and I cannot believe that Khoa has not been taking photos all his life! They are consistently beautiful! I love the one you have on this post and the essay – great shot. Ok, that’s it from me, but just wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed reading some more of your story 🙂

    • youmeandatanuki July 28, 2012 / 8:16 am

      Thank you so much! It really means a lot to us that you enjoyed our posts. I’m glad that you can relate to our story. I think my worry about Khoa coming to here without a specific purpose other than to be with me was the hardest part of moving to Japan. But it’s all worked out and we’re enjoying our time here. I’m glad that you are both enjoying your time in the Netherlands!

      Thank you for your comment and your support for our blog!

Let us know what you think

