Salty Watermelon Pepsi

Salty Watermelon Pepsi

When we saw this drink at the conbini (convenience store), we just had to try it.  Salty watermelon flavored anything would be interesting in itself, but salty watermelon pepsi?  How could we pass that up?  Purchasing this weird beverage and handing over the required 150 or so yen, I was aware that Khoa and I would probably take one sip, shrug our shoulders saying, “huh” and be done with the pink liquid.  I don’t even like salt on my watermelon (even though my sister and Khoa both think there’s something wrong with my taste buds), but the oddness of the drink beckoned me to buy it. So we drank about half of the Salty Watermelon Pepsi, all the while not being able to decide whether we liked it or not.  My first sip had me exclaiming, “that’s a salty watermelon!” but I’m still not sure if I actually liked drinking a salty watermelon.  It was a nice beverage to try, but I don’t think I’d drink it again.  I’d rather just eat a slice of watermelon…hold the salt.

Japan is infamous for its seasonal and bizarre drinks.  I’ve seen yogurt-flavored and Caribbean Pepsi make an appearance and just as quickly disappear.  My beloved “Za Supakuringu” (the Sparkling) has completely disappeared from store shelves despite my love of the unsweetened, carbonated green tea sold in summer 2011 only (hey, don’t knock it until you try it…or don’t try it…because you can’t….because it’s gone forever!).  It seems like every time Khoa and I go to the mainland, there’s a new drink out and then the next time we make our journey off the island, it magically disappears from store shelves, never to be seen again.  I have a love-hate relationship with these seasonal drinks in Japan.  I love it because I always get to try something new and strange that makes me smile, shake my head and think, “oh Japan.”  I hate it because sometimes I actually like the seasonal drink and as I enjoy the newly discovered beverage, there’s always a feeling of sadness as I sip, knowing it’ll be gone with the changing season. 

So rock on Salty Watermelon Pepsi and enjoy your frolic in summer 2012!  We hardly knew ye.        

3 thoughts on “Salty Watermelon Pepsi

  1. TBM July 26, 2012 / 7:55 pm

    That does sound interesting. I love trying new things. When I visit Japan I’ll have to keep an eye out for odd drinks.

  2. thehungryartist July 27, 2012 / 2:03 am

    OMg, that’s so Asian. Have you ever had watermelon with Li Hing Mui (chinese spice). It’s also salty. I had it in Hawaii. I think for the most part, this Pepsi would not fly in the US! lol.

Let us know what you think

