Popeye

There’s nothing better than waking up in the morning to the smell of breakfast cooking.

I have been feeling like I’ve had a slight cold for the past week now, so I was glad to finally have a chance to sleep in on Sunday morning.  Because of the sunlight, Khoa can’t sleep in and was up at around 7:45 this morning.  When I finally stirred from my slumber at around 9, Khoa was making me a popeye.  I’m not sure if this is a normal dish, but my dad used to make it for me when I was a kid.  Khoa had never heard of a popeye until I ventured into the kitchen to show him how to make one.  It’s really easy to make…I think if I just show you a picture of one, you’ll get the idea:

A popeye cooking in the skillet

You take a piece of bread and make a hole in the middle using the edges of a cup (the part you drink from).  Once you have cut the circle out of the center, DO NOT THROW AWAY THE ROUND PIECE OF BREAD!!!  That’s the best part 😛  You then butter both sides of the bread and place it in  a skillet.  Crack an egg in the center hole and flip it once the egg is about half way cooked.  Be sure to butter and grill the little round part too.  It’ll become all nice and buttery and toasty. So good!

cooked popeye

Have any of you every had or made a popeye?  Is it just something my dad made up?

Either way, it’s a really simple and comforting breakfast to have on a lazy Sunday morning.

Try it out, you might like it!

3 thoughts on “Popeye

  1. Jessica Siefert June 17, 2012 / 3:19 pm

    Oh man, those are sooo good! Jamon introduced me to it sometime ago.. We just call it “egg in the hole” hahaha. Yummm!

    Hope you are feeling better, Michelle! Nice job taking care of your lady Khoa 😉

  2. sybaritica June 20, 2012 / 1:03 pm

    Called ‘egg in a nest’ in these parts.

Let us know what you think

